June 18, 2008 / 5:05 PM / in 10 years

Slipknot names new album, preps for tour

Cori #8, singer of U.S. death metal rock band Slipknot, performs during a concert in Caracas September 20, 2005. Picture taken September 20, 2005. Slipknot's fourth album has been christened "All Hope Is Gone" and will arrive August 26. REUTERS/Howard Yanes

NEW YORK (Billboard) - Slipknot’s fourth album has been christened “All Hope Is Gone” and will arrive August 26.

A first single and track list for the Roadrunner release have yet to be announced.

“We have made an album that will show the road behind, the road ahead, and where we are as men,” group member Corey Taylor said in a statement. “I think it’s the best thing I’ve ever made. And I challenge anyone to prove me wrong.”

Taylor previously described the new album to Billboard as a “very dark” cross between “Vol. 3” and 2001’s “Iowa.” “It has so much power in it and yet there are so many great spots for melody,” he said. “It’s a controlled chaos that hits you right out of the gate.”

Slipknot will co-headline this summer’s 30-date Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem tour, which begins July 9 at the White River Amphitheatre in Auburn, Washington.


0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below