"Star Trek" creator to enter TV Hall of Fame

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Late “Star Trek” creator Gene Roddenberry, comedy duo Tom and Dick Smothers and actress Candice Bergen will be among those inducted into the Television Academy’s Hall of Fame in January.

The Television Academy said on Tuesday they would be joined by “Saturday Night Live” and game show announcer Don Pardo, “The Price is Right” game show creator Bob Stewart and Emmy-award winning art director Charles Lisanby for the annual ceremony.

“This year’s inductees have challenged and shaped popular culture and entertained us royally while doing so,” said Television Academy chairman John Shaffner.

Bergen is best known for her role in the 1990s CBS comedy “Murphy Brown”, while the Smothers brothers started their TV career in the 1960s and are still performing for audiences around the United States.

Roddenberry’s “Star Trek” franchise includes 10 movies and 7 TV series stretching back to 1966.

Reporting by Jill Serjeant