World News

FACTBOX-U.S. presidents who won Nobel Peace Prize

(Reuters) - Barack Obama on Friday became the fourth U.S. president to be awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

Here are some details about the other three:

* Jimmy Carter won in 2002 as ex-president for what the Nobel prize committee said were “his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development.”

* Woodrow Wilson won the 1919 prize in recognition of his Fourteen Points peace programme and work in achieving inclusion of the Covenant of the League of Nations in the 1919 Treaty of Versailles at the end of World War One. “The President succeeded in bringing a design for a fundamental law of humanity into present-day international politics,” the Nobel Committee said.

* Theodore Roosevelt won the 1906 prize for his role in ending the bloody 1905 war between two of the world’s great powers, Japan and Russia. The result was the Treaty of Portsmouth signed by Russia and Japan on September 5, 1905, at Portsmouth, New Hampshire.

Sources: Reuters/http:/