A look at previous English FA Cup and League Doubles

LONDON (Reuters) - Chelsea became the seventh English club to achieve the Double by winning the FA Cup and league title in the same season on Saturday after their 1-0 victory over Portsmouth at Wembley Stadium.

A look at the previous 10 Double-winning seasons:


The first season of League soccer in England ended with Preston winning the title without losing a match and lifting the FA Cup without conceding a goal.

Nicknamed “The Invincibles,” they scored 74 goals in their 22 league matches, and conceded just 15. They clinched the Double by beating Wolverhampton Wanderers 3-0 in the Cup final before a 22,000 crowd.

- - -


Aston Villa won the title five times between 1894 and 1900 and enjoyed confirmed their place as the best team of the era in 1896-97 when they also lifted the FA Cup after beating Everton 3-2 in a thrilling final in which all five goals were scored before halftime.

- - -


Spurs, playing some outstanding attacking football under skipper Danny Blanchflower, became the first club in the 20th century to win the Double, setting a number of records along the way. They won their first 11 league matches, won most league matches (31 of 42) and also most away games (16 of 21).

In an era of open attacking football they scored 115 goals and conceded 55. They beat Leicester City 2-0 in the FA Cup final with goals from Bobby Smith and Terry Dyson and won the Cup again in 1962 with a 3-1 win over Burnley.

- - -

1970-71 ARSENAL

Arsenal clinched the title with a win at arch-rivals Spurs on a Monday night at White Hart Lane and the Double five days later with a come-from-behind 2-1 extra-time win over Liverpool with Charlie George scoring the winning goal and laying on his back on the Wembley turf in celebration.

They played 64 games during the season -- 42 in the League and 22 in the European Fairs Cup, League Cup and the FA Cup.

- - -


The culmination of Liverpool’s domestic domination during the 1970s and ‘80s came in 1986 under Kenny Dalglish, who became the first and so far only player-manager to win the Double.

Liverpool lost only six of their 42 League games and the Double was made even sweeter by beating neighbours Everton 3-1 in the FA Cup final with two goals from Ian Rush and one from Craig Johnston after Gary Lineker had given Everton the lead.

- - -


In 1993 Manchester United ended a 26-year wait for the title and the following year they not only retained the trophy but also won the Double by crushing Chelsea 4-0 in the FA Cup final with Eric Cantona scoring twice from the penalty spot.

Their success came a few months after the death of Matt Busby, the father of the modern United, when manager Alex Ferguson became the first man to win the Double in England and Scotland having achieved the feat with Aberdeen in 1984.

- - -


Manchester United became the first club to win the Double twice when they clinched a record ninth FA Cup triumph thanks to an 85th minute Eric Cantona goal in a poor final with Liverpool.

For much of the season Newcastle United looked likely to win the title but United erased the 12-point lead held by Kevin Keegan’s men in January as Ferguson’s side finished four points clear of Newcastle at the end of an epic race.

- - -

1997-98 ARSENAL

No club won the Double in the 64 years between 1897 and 1961 but Arsenal made it three in five seasons when they achieved the feat for the second time in 1998.

Their success was all the more remarkable as they stormed to the league title with 10 straight wins, wrapping it up after the 4-0 thrashing of Everton which included a memorable goal from skipper Tony Adams with two games to spare before a convincing 2-0 victory over Newcastle United in the final.

Nicolas Anelka, who has now won the Double with Chelsea, scored Arsenal’s second goal in the showpiece after Marc Overmars scored the opener.

- - -


Manchester United succeeded Arsenal as champions and FA Cup winners to claim their third Double in six seasons, sealing it, like Arsenal, with a 2-0 win over Newcastle in the final with goals from Teddy Sheringham and Paul Scholes.

United though, went on to even greater glory four days after the Cup final by completing the Treble, winning the Champions League and lifting the European Cup with their dramatic 2-1 win over Bayern Munich when Sheringham and Ole-Gunnar Solskjaer scored.

- - -

2001-02 ARSENAL

Arsenal matched Manchester United with a third Double and became the first English champions since Preston in 1889 to win the title without losing a match away from home.

Arsenal also became the first Double winners to lift the FA Cup before securing the championship.

They beat Chelsea 2-0 in the Cup final on May 4 with goals from Ray Parlour and Freddie Ljungberg and clinched the title four days later with a 1-0 win at Manchester United with a goal from Sylvain Wiltord.

Left back Ashley Cole, who won the Double with Chelsea on Saturday when he set a record by picking up his sixth winners’ medal, was part of the Arsenal team.

Editing by Ken Ferris To query or comment on this story email