February 9, 2009 / 6:00 AM / 11 years ago

Blink-182 announces reunion at Grammys

Blink-182 band members Mark Hoppus (L), Travis Barker (C), and Tom DeLonge present the Best Rock Album at the 51st annual Grammy Awards in Los Angeles, February 8, 2009. REUTERS/Lucy Nicholson

NEW YORK (Billboard) - The members of punk rock trio Blink-182 announced during Sunday night’s Grammy Awards that they are reuniting for a tour and new album. The group has been on hiatus for more than four years.

“We used to play music together, and we decided we’re going to play music together again,” drummer Travis Barker said at the Los Angeles event, still with his arm in a sling after surviving a deadly plane crash last year.

In a statement sent to the media, the band said, “To put it simply, We’re back. We mean, really back. Picking up where we left off and then some. In the studio writing and recording a new album. Preparing to tour the world yet again. Friendships reformed. 17 years deep in our legacy.” Rumors are swirling that the band will open for Green Day this summer, but details have not been announced.

Since Blink-182’s split, Barker and bassist Mark Hoppus formed +44, while guitarist Tom DeLonge fronted Angels & Airwaves. The band’s last show was December 16, 2004.

Blink-182’s four studio albums and one live set have sold a combined 12.8 million copies in the United States, according to Nielsen SoundScan. The group posted 10 top 10 hits on Billboard’s Modern Rock chart, including the No. 1s “All the Small Things” and “I Miss You.”


0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below