May 22, 2011 / 6:27 PM / 7 years ago

Factbox: Prize winners at 2011 Cannes film festival

CANNES (Reuters) - The 2011 Cannes film festival ended on Sunday with an awards ceremony where U.S. director Terrence Malick’s film “The Tree of Life” won the Palme d’Or for best picture.

Following were the main prize winners on the night:

Palme d’Or (Golden Palm) for best film

— “The Tree of Life” directed by Terrence Malick (United States)

Grand Prix runner-up prize

— “Once Upon A Time In Anatolia” directed by Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Turkey) and “The Kid With A Bike” directed by Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne (Belgium)

Best director

— Nicolas Winding Refn (Denmark) for “Drive”

Best screenplay

— Joseph Cedar (Israel) for “Footnote”

Best actress

— Kirsten Dunst (United States) for “Melancholia”

Best actor

— Jean Dujardin (France) for “The Artist”

Jury prize

— “Polisse” directed by Maiwenn (France)

Camera d’Or (Golden Camera) for best first feature

— “Las Acacias” directed by Pablo Giorgelli (Argentina)

Reporting by Mike Collett-White and Nick Vinocur

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below