June 16, 2009 / 11:40 PM / 10 years ago

Mariah Carey to release new album on August 25

Singer Mariah Carey addresses the crowd during the Apollo Theatre's 75th anniversary gala in New York, June 8, 2009. REUTERS/Lucas Jackson

NEW YORK (Billboard) - Mariah Carey will release her 12th studio album, “Memoirs of an Imperfect Angel,” August 25 on Island Def Jam, the singer announced Tuesday.

The debut single “Obsessed” has shipped to radio, while a music video directed by Brett Ratner is forthcoming. Tricky Stewart and The-Dream, who co-wrote “Obsessed” with Carey, produced the majority of the tracks.

Carey announced the title of her new album back in May via Twitter, writing, “Bcuz I Love U, I want u to be the first to know the title of my new album “Memoirs of an Imperfect Angel” Its very personal & dedicated to u.”

She followed up on June 9 with an excited Tweet about the first single: “Seriously, this is one of my favorite songs ever,” she wrote. “I love the whole album. I’m completely immersed in it. I can’t wait for you to hear it.”

Since entering the studio earlier this year, Carey has been providing regular updates about the album to her 600,000-plus followers on the microblogging site.

The album follows 2008’s “E=MC2,” which sold 1.3 million copies in the United States, according to Nielsen SoundScan and spawned Carey’s 18th No. 1 single on the Billboard Hot 100 (“Touch My Body”), as she surpassed Elvis Presley to claim the second-highest tally of No. 1 hits in the rock era. The Beatles are the all-time leaders with 20.

Editing by Dean Gooodman at Reuters

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below