Film News

"Hangover," "Up" "Locker" top film editing honors

LOS ANGELES (Hollywood Reporter) - The editors of “The Hurt Locker,” “The Hangover” and “Up” won the feature-film competitions Sunday at the 60th annual American Cinema Editors Eddie Awards in Beverly Hills.

“Hurt Locker” editors Bob Murawski and Chris Innis earned the trophy for a dramatic film, topping a category that included “Avatar,” “District 9,” “Star Trek” and “Up in the Air.”

“Hangover” editor Debra Neil-Fisher topped the category for comedy or musical, which included nominees “(500) Days of Summer,” “Julie & Julia,” “A Serious Man,” and “It’s Complicated.”

Editor Kevin Nolting earned the award for best edited animated feature for “Up,” leading a group that included “Coraline” and “Fantastic Mr. Fox.”

“The Cove” editor Geoffrey Richman won the award for best edited documentary, a category rounded out by nominees “Food, Inc.” and “This is It.”

An Eddie award winner often goes on to win the Oscar for editing. This year, only Eddie winner “The Hurt Locker” is also nominated for an Oscar in the category. The Academy Awards” editing nominees this year also include “Avatar,” “District 9,” “Inglourious Basterds” and “Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire.”ACE television winners included “30 Rock,” “Breaking Bad,” “Dexter,” “Grey Gardens” and “The Deadliest Catch.”

During the event at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, Christopher Guest presented Rob Reiner with the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year award.

Paul F. LaMastra, A.C.E. and Neil Travis, A.C.E. were honored with Career Achievement Awards. LaMastra”s career in television editing includes Primetime Emmys for “Caroline?” in 1990 and “Wallenberg: A Hero”s Story” in 1985. Travis won an Oscar and ACE Eddie for “Dances With Wolves.”

Joel McHale of NBC”s “Community” hosted the ceremony.