June 24, 2010 / 4:59 PM / 9 years ago

Killers' singer Flowers to debut album in September

Vocalist Brandon Flowers of The Killers performs at the Coachella Music Festival in Indio, California in this April 18, 2009 file photo. REUTERS/Mario Anzuoni

NEW YORK (Reuters) - Brandon Flowers, the lead singer for U.S. rock band The Killers will release his debut solo album titled “Flamingo” on September 14, Island Records said on Thursday.

Island Records said the 29-year-old frontman of the Las Vegas-based band recorded the solo album working with the same producer from The Killers’ third album “Day & Age.” It will feature similar full choruses and instrumentation that has become a staple of The Killers’ sound.

The album’s first single, “Crossfire,” has already been released and other songs will include upbeat rock song “Jilted Lovers and Broken Hearts” as well as “Welcome to Fabulous Las Vegas,” according to the record company.

Flowers, a former college dropout, became known for his glam rock image and soaring vocals after The Killers’ first 2004 album “Hot Fuss” propelled them to international success with singles including “Mr. Brightside” and “All These Things That I’ve Done.”

Flowers has said The Killers’ are currently talking about when to start recording a new album after taking an indefinite hiatus after their last world tour that began in 2009 ended earlier this year.

Reporting by Christine Kearney, editing by Patricia Reaney

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below