Sports News

Factbox: Profile of the Kansas City Chiefs

(Reuters) - Profile of the American Football Conference’s Kansas City Chiefs, who play the National Football Conference’s Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the Super Bowl on Sunday.

Founded: 1959. Began play as the Dallas Texans as a charter member of the American Football League (AFL) and moved to Kansas City, Missouri after winning the 1962 championship. Chiefs won AFL titles again in 1966 and 1969.

AFC titles (season): 2 (2019, 2020)

Super Bowl titles (season): 2 (1969*, 2019)

* Super Bowl win came in the fourth and final AFL-NFL Championship game before the two leagues merged.

Head coach: Andy Reid. Hired by the Chiefs in 2013, he guided them to the Super Bowl title last season, their first in 50 years and his first as a head coach.

He previously served as head coach of the Philadelphia Eagles, a 14-season stint that included five trips to the NFC title game and one Super Bowl defeat.

Starting quarterback: Patrick Mahomes. Selected by Kansas City with the 10th overall pick in the 2017 NFL Draft, Mahomes took home Super Bowl MVP honours last year after leading his team to a gutsy, come-from-behind win against San Francisco 49ers.

He is a dual-threat quarterback who can beat opponents with his strong throwing arm as well as his legs.

2020 regular season record: 14-2; 1st in AFC West division

Week 1 - v Houston, won 34-20

Week 2 - at Los Angeles Chargers, won 23-20

Week 3 - at Baltimore, won 34-20

Week 4 - v New England, won 26-10

Week 5 - v Las Vegas, lost 40-32

Week 6 - at Buffalo, won 26-17

Week 7 - at Denver, won 43-16

Week 8 - v New York Jets, won 35-9

Week 9 - v Carolina, won 33-31

Week 10 - Bye Week

Week 11 - at Las Vegas, won 35-31

Week 12 - at Tamba Bay, won 27-24

Week 13 - v Denver, won 22-16

Week 14 - at Miami, won 33-27

Week 15 - at New Orleans, won 32-29

Week 16 - v Atlanta, won 17-14

Week 17 - v Los Angeles Chargers, lost 38-21

AFC playoff seeding: 1

Path to the Super Bowl - First round bye; Beat Cleveland 22-17 in the divisional round; Beat Buffalo 38-24 in the AFC championship.

Compiled by Arvind Sriram in Bengaluru; Editing by Christian Radnedge