December 1, 2008 / 7:39 PM / 10 years ago

"Halo Trilogy" soundtrack set previews new game

ST. PETERSBURG, Florida (Billboard) - “Halo Trilogy,” a compilation of the complete soundtracks of Microsoft’s top-selling “Halo” video game franchise, will be released Tuesday (December 2) as a five-disc collectible set.

The bonus “Halo Wars” DVD includes four preview tracks in 5.1 surround sound for the highly anticipated sequel game, due from Microsoft Games in early 2009 exclusively for the Xbox and Xbox 360 platforms. The Halo franchise has sold close to 25 million games worldwide, according to Microsoft.

The DVD offers a behind-the-scenes look at the “Halo Wars” recording sessions at Ensemble Studios, under the audio direction of composer Stephen Rippy, with musicians from the Seattle Symphony, Dallas Symphony and Prague Symphony orchestras.

Nile Rodgers' Sumthing Else Music Works label is releasing the soundtracks, which are composed and produced by Martin O'Donnell and Michael Salvatori. Sumthing Else's website ( is also selling the soundtracks as digital downloads.

“Our label has done all the prior Halo soundtracks as Microsoft’s licensing partner, and we’ll have a complete ‘Halo Wars’ soundtrack just before the game release next year,” Sumthing Else president Andy Uterano told Billboard.


0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below