May 2, 2010 / 10:38 PM / 8 years ago

LeBron dominates vote to win second straight MVP award

CLEVELAND, Ohio (Reuters) - LeBron James blew away the competition in much the same way he has done on court all season to earn his second straight NBA MVP honor Sunday.

James earned 116 of a possible 123 first-place votes. Oklahoma City’s Kevin Durant finished second followed by Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers.

In another dominant year, the Cleveland Cavaliers forward averaged 29.7 points, 8.6 assists and 7.3 rebounds while leading his team to the best record in the league.

James becomes the 10th NBA player to win the honor in back-to-back seasons, joining Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Moses Malone, Larry Bird, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Tim Duncan and Steve Nash. Russell, Chamberlain and Bird won it in three consecutive years.

Reporting by Jahmal Corner in Los Angeles; Editing by Alison Wildey

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below