Reuters logo
FACTBOX: U.S. tops list of Nobel Peace Prize winners
October 9, 2009 / 11:52 AM / in 8 years

FACTBOX: U.S. tops list of Nobel Peace Prize winners

(Reuters) - The award of the Nobel Peace Prize to U.S. President Barack Obama Friday makes him the 21st U.S. citizen to win. Americans have won more awards than any other nationality since the prize was first made in 1901.

2009 - President Barack Obama for giving the world “hope for a better future” and striving for nuclear disarmament.

2007 - Former Vice President Al Gore shared the award with the U.N.’s Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change for highlighting the risks of global warming.

2002 - Former U.S. President Jimmy Carter for “his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development.”

1997 - Jody Williams shared the award with her International Campaign to Ban Landmines “for their work for the banning and clearing of anti-personnel mines.”

1986 - Elie Wiesel, a Jewish survivor of the Holocaust, as “one of the most important spiritual leaders and guides in an age when violence, repression and racism continue to characterize the world.”

1973 - Henry Kissinger, U.S. Secretary of State, shared the prize with Le Duc Tho of Vietnam for efforts to end the Vietnam war. Le Duc Tho declined to accept the award.

1970 - Norman Ernest Borlaug, for his work to promote the “green revolution” improving crop production.

1964 - Martin Luther King, for work for racial equality in the United States.

1962 - Linus Carl Pauling, U.S. scientist who campaigned against nuclear war and testing of atom bombs. His work contributed to a 1963 Nuclear Test Ban Treaty.

1953 - George Marshall, former U.S. Secretary of State who originated the Marshall Plan for aiding Europe after World War Two.

1950 - Ralph Bunche, a mediator in the conflict in Palestine.

1946 - Emily Greene Balch, honorary international president of the Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom, and John Raleigh Mott, chairman of the International Missionary Council and the president of the World Alliance of Young Men’s Christian Associations.

1945 - Cordel Hull, former U.S. Secretary of State and a prominent participant in originating the United Nations.

1931 - Jane Addams, international president of the Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom, and Nicholas Murray Butler, a promoter of the Briand Kellogg pact that banned the use of war as “an instrument of national policy.”

1929 - Frank Billings Kellogg, former Secretary of State who originated the Briand Kellogg pact.

1925 - Charles Gates Dawes, U.S. Vice President and chairman of the allied reparation commission after World War One, shared the prize with Britain’s Austen Chamberlain.

1919 - U.S. President Woodrow Wilson won in recognition of his Fourteen Points peace program and work in achieving inclusion of the Covenant of the League of Nations in the 1919 Treaty of Versailles at the end of World War One.

1912 - Elihu Root, former U.S. Secretary of State, originator of various treaties of arbitration and encouraged the founding of a World Court.

1906 - President Theodore Roosevelt won the 1906 prize for his role in ending the bloody 1905 war between two of the world’s great powers, Japan and Russia. The result was the Treaty of Portsmouth signed by Russia and Japan on September 5, 1905, at Portsmouth, New Hampshire.

Compiled by Terje Solsvik and Alister Doyle, Editing by Angus MacSwan

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below