FACTBOX: World leaders to attend Olympics opening in Beijing

(Reuters) - Pakistan’s President Pervez Musharraf cancelled his scheduled visit to China, two days before he was to attend the Beijing Olympics opening ceremony, a member of his entourage said on Wednesday.

The visit was cancelled as opponents in the country’s coalition government consulted over his possible impeachment.

More than 80 state leaders and royals are expected to attend the opening of the August 8-24 Games. Attendance and non-attendance is a closely watched issue, as rights groups have urged leaders to boycott the Games to protest against China’s crackdown on May unrest in Tibet and its ties with the government in Sudan.

Here is a preliminary list of world leaders who have said they will attend the opening ceremony:

AFGHANISTAN - President Hamid Karzai

ALGERIA - President Abdelaziz Bouteflika

AUSTRALIA - Prime Minister Kevin Rudd

BRAZIL - President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva

CAMBODIA - King Norodom Sihamoni

COOK ISLANDS - Head of State Frederick Goodwin

CROATIA - President Stjepan Mesic

CYPRUS - President Demetris Christofias

FIJI - Interim Prime Minister Commodore Frank Bainimarama

FINLAND - Prime Minister Matti Vanhanen

FRANCE - President Nicolas Sarkozy

ISRAEL - President Shimon Peres

JAPAN - Prime Minister Yasuo Fukuda

LATVIA - President Valdis Zatlers

LAOS - President Choummaly Sayasone

MADAGASCAR - President Marc Ravalomanana

MAURITIUS - President Sir Anerood Jugnauth.

MALAYSIA - King Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin and Queen Tuanku Nur Zahirah

MICRONESIA - President Emanuel Mori

MONACO - Head of State Prince Albert II

NETHERLANDS - Dutch Prime Minister Jan Peter Balkenend

NORWAY - King Harald V and Queen Sonja Haraldsen

PHILIPPINES - President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo

ROMANIA - President Traian Basescu

RUSSIA - Prime Minister Vladimir Putin

SAMOA - Head of State Tuiatua Tupua Tamasese Efi

SERBIA - President Boris Tadic

SINGAPORE - President S. R. Nathan and Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew

SLOVAKIA - President Ivan Gasparovic

SOUTH KOREA - President Lee Myung-bak

SRI LANKA - President Mahinda Rajapakse

SWITZERLAND - President Pascal Couchepin

THAILAND - Prime Minister Samak Sundaravej and Crown Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn

UNITED STATES - President George W. Bush. A seven-member delegation led by Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice will attend the closing ceremony.

VANUATU - President Kalkot Mataskelekele

VIETNAM - President Nguyen Minh Triet


BELGIUM - Belgian Prime Minister Yves Leterme. He will attend the closing ceremony.

BRITAIN - Prime Minister Gordon Brown. He will attend closing ceremony.

CANADA - Prime Minister Stephen Harper

CZECH REPUBLIC - Prime Minister Mirek Topolanek will miss the opening ceremony, but attend the Games later.

ESTONIA - President Toomas Hendrik Ilves

GERMANY - Chancellor Angela Merkel

INDIA - Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. Sports Minister S. Gill will attend. India’s ruling Congress party chief Sonia Gandhi has been invited to the opening ceremony, according to local media reports.

ITALY - Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi

LITHUANIA - President Valdas Adamkus

NEW ZEALAND - Prime Minister Helen Clark. Governor-General Anand Satyanand will attend.

NORTH KOREA - President Kim Jong Il. Second in command, Kim Yong Nam, will attend.

PAKISTAN - President Pervez Musharraf

POLAND - Prime Minister Donald Tusk

SOUTH AFRICA - President Thabo Mbeki. His wife Zanele Mbeki will attend the Games.

SPAIN - King Juan Carlos and Prime Minister Jose Luis Rodriguez Zapatero will not attend. Spain will be represented by Foreign Minister Miguel Angel Moratinos.

TAIWAN - President Ma Ying-jeou. Thomas Tsai, president of the Chinese Taipei Olympic Committee, will attend.

UNITED NATIONS - Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon

Sources: Reuters, Xinhua

(Compiled by David Cutler and Gillian Murdoch, Editorial Reference Units in London & Beijing)

For more stories visit our multimedia website "Road to Beijing" at here