Reuters logo
Punk's Rancid to release first album in six years
March 31, 2009 / 2:33 AM / 9 years ago

Punk's Rancid to release first album in six years

NEW YORK (Billboard) - Punk band Rancid will release its first album in six years on June 2, two days before it begins a North American tour with Rise Against in Vancouver, B.C.

<p>Fans mosh in front of the stage as the punk rock band Rancid performs during the "Vans Warped Tour 2001," at the Thomas &amp; Mack Center in Las Vegas June 23, 2001. REUTERS/Ethan Miller</p>

“Let the Dominoes Fall” (Hellcat/Epitaph), the band’s seventh album, was recorded at George Lucas’ Skywalker Sound Studio in San Francisco, with production by Epitaph founder and Bad Religion guitarist Brett Gurewitz. Stax organ legend Booker T. Jones plays Hammond B3 on the track “Up To No Good.”

Rancid’s last album, 2003’s “Indestructible,” reached No. 15 on the Billboard 200. That album marked the band’s first and last for Warner Bros., though the release did not carry any mention of the WB name, a move likely designed to assuage fans disappointed by the staunchly independent band’s alignment with a major label.

Editing by Dean Goodman at Reuters

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below