December 24, 2008 / 2:07 AM / 11 years ago

Springsteen hits album due via Wal-Mart

NEW YORK (Billboard) - Wal-Mart will be the exclusive U.S. retailer for Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band’s “Greatest Hits,” which will arrive January 13, two weeks before the group’s new Columbia studio album, “Working on a Dream.”

Bruce Springsteen performs with the E Street Band on NBC's "Today" show in New York, September 28, 2007. REUTERS/Brendan McDermid

The 12-track set omits material from Springsteen’s albums without the E Street Band to round up classics such as “Born to Run,” “Thunder Road,” “Born in the U.S.A.” and “Darkness on the Edge of Town.”

Both “Greatest Hits” and “Working on a Dream” will be in stores when Springsteen and company perform at the Super Bowl XLIII halftime show on February 1 in Tampa, Fla. Like last year’s “Magic,” the new album was produced by Brendan O’Brien.

Meanwhile, Springsteen made a surprise appearance Monday night at the fourth Hope Concert in Red Bank, N.J., which also featured Jon Bon Jovi and Southside Johnny. Springsteen performed “Run Run Rudolph” with Bon Jovi and then played “Merry Christmas Baby,” “Santa Claus Is Coming to Town,” “634-5789,” “Avenue” and “Having a Party” with the house band.

Here is the track list for “Greatest Hits”:

“Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)”

“Born To Run”

“Thunder Road”

“Darkness on the Edge of Town”


“Hungry Heart”

“Glory Days”

“Dancing in the Dark”

“Born in the U.S.A.”

“The Rising”

“Lonesome Day”

“Radio Nowhere”


0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below