U.S. News

Factbox: How the Senate voted on other Supreme Court justices

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Senate confirmations of Supreme Court nominees have becoming increasingly partisan during the past two decades.

President Barack Obama’s second nominee to the nation’s highest court, Elena Kagan, won Senate approval by a vote of 63-37 on Thursday.

All the Democratic senators but one voted for her, two independent senators voted for her and five Republicans voted for her. All the other Republican senators opposed her nomination.

The debate over her nomination was especially partisan ahead of the November congressional elections. Following are the Senate confirmation votes of the high court’s eight other members and the president who appointed them.

* Sonia Sotomayor, nominated by the Democrat Obama, was confirmed by a 68-31 vote on August 6, 2009.

* Samuel Alito, nominated by Republican President George W. Bush, was confirmed a 58-42 vote on January 31, 2006.

* John Roberts, nominated by Bush, was confirmed by a 78-22 vote on September 29, 2005.

* Stephen Breyer, nominated by Democratic President Bill Clinton, was confirmed by a 87-9 vote on July 29, 1994.

* Ruth Bader Ginsburg, nominated by Clinton, was confirmed by a 96-3 vote on August 3, 1993.

* Clarence Thomas, nominated by Republican President George H.W. Bush, was confirmed by a 52-48 vote on October 15, 1991.

* Anthony Kennedy, nominated by Republican President Ronald Reagan, was confirmed by a 97-0 vote on February 3, 1988.

* Antonin Scalia, nominated by Reagan, was confirmed by a 98-0 vote on September 17, 1986.

Writing by Thomas Ferraro and James Vicini ; editing by David Alexander and Cynthia Osterman