How to submit a confidential news tip to Reuters

Filed


With about 2,500 journalists in nearly 200 cities, supported by a dedicated global investigative team, Reuters has the expertise and resources to chase news to the ends of the earth.

If you have significant information of public interest, Reuters has several ways tipsters can communicate confidentially with its journalists. No system is 100 percent secure. But the tools below can help protect your anonymity.

The more documents, data or other evidence you include to substantiate your tip, the more likely it is that we’ll be able to investigate it.

If you wish to submit a substantial number of documents, please contact us by the means below and we will explain the most secure way.


Signal

Signal is a free phone app that allows you to make calls and to send messages, images or video. Your communications are end-to-end encrypted, meaning they can only be read by your intended recipients. Signal keeps only your phone number and profile information. Its servers do not access or store your transmitted data, and you can configure the service to delete messages from your phone automatically at certain time intervals.

Our Signal number is +1 (347) 880-5627
You can read Signal’s privacy policy here: https://whispersystems.org/signal/privacy/
Download the app here: https://whispersystems.org/


WhatsApp

Facebook owns this free service, which allows you to make calls and send end-to-end encrypted text and voice messages, video, audio and documents. Only the sender and recipient can read the content. WhatsApp stores some metadata, including the phone number of the person you contacted, and the date and time of the connection. You can change the settings to reduce the information WhatsApp shares with Facebook.

Our WhatsApp number is +1 (347) 880-5627
You can read WhatsApp’s privacy policy here: https://www.whatsapp.com/legal/#key-updates
Download the app here: https://www.whatsapp.com/download/


Encrypted email

You can send encrypted email messages via Pretty Good Privacy (PGP). You will need client software or a browser extension, such as the Chrome extension Mailvelope, to send the message. The extension will encrypt the content of the message, but not the identity of the sender, recipient, subject line or the time and date when it was sent. The fingerprint of our public key and a link to download it are below, as is a list of public keys for individual reporters. You can contact them directly.

Our PGP fingerprint: 5A87 FE02 6E64 8F5B
Email: tips@reuters.com
Download Mailvelope here: https://www.mailvelope.com/en


Postal mail

We recommend you use a public mailbox, not a post office, to mail a letter or package to Reuters.

Reuters News Tips
c/o Blake Morrison, investigative projects editor
3 Times Square, 19th Floor
New York, NY 10036

Reuters News Tips
c/o Richard Woods, investigations editor
30, South Colonnade, Canary Wharf
London, E14 5EP, United Kingdom

Reuters News Tips
c/o Peter Hirschberg, investigative projects editor
Level 10, 60 Margaret St
Sydney, NSW 2000, Australia


SecureDrop

This system is a way for you to send us information with more security and anonymity than email or other electronic means. It uses the Tor network, which seeks to conceal users’ identities by encrypting and randomly bouncing communications through a network of relays around the globe. The system is in the physical possession of Reuters, walled off from the rest of our network. We do not ask for or receive any identifying information, and we limit the information that is logged about our communications.

To use the system, follow these steps:

We recommend you go to a place with a public internet connection. Choose somewhere you don’t normally go, and use a computer that is free of malware.

Download and install the Tor browser from https://www.torproject.org/. If you would like an added measure of security, you can use the Tails operating system, which includes the Tor browser. You can learn more about Tails at https://tails.boum.org/.

In the Tor browser, navigate to our SecureDrop site at 5d2ghazeqxszcmsy.onion.

Follow the instructions to send us a message and any files you want to share. You will be assigned a codename that you can use to log in and check for replies from us. Please keep the codename in a safe place, as you are the only person who will know it. Without it, you will not be able to contact us again or read our reply.

When you log back in, we recommend you delete any messages you receive from us as soon as you have read them.

We will decrypt the information you send us on a computer that is not connected to our network or to the internet.

The SecureDrop software we use is a project of the Freedom of the Press Foundation. You can read more about it here: https://securedrop.org/. Every effort is made to ensure the system is free of bugs, but please be aware that you assume the risk that comes with any software system.


Enterprise reporter contacts

Clare Baldwin
clare.baldwin@thomsonreuters.com
B12F 9B87 C106 B2F8 E673  6AC4 55C7 F571 0092 FC5B

Renee Dudley
renee.dudley@thomsonreuters.com
65DB A0B2 06A1 479C

Selam Gebrekidan
selam.gebrekidan@thomsonreuters.com
6C79 FCCB 423A D0F0

Stephen Grey
stephen.grey@thomsonreuters.com
B369 7C75 8B19 5DAD 5143 DFD9 DB70 F0E2 AA55 E840

Sara Ledwith
sara.ledwith@thomsonreuters.com
7012 4B89 A4CA 3892 E212 1171 66CF 697C 32AE 14BA

Charles Levinson
charles.levinson@thomsonreuters.com
FA18 4AA1 7132 1A38

Reade Levinson
reade.levinson@thomsonreuters.com
1DEC D984 2FBE D489

Andrew RC Marshall
andrew.m@thomsonreuters.com
9CD9 5185 9F13 EEED B04B  2083 1B4A 76E7 78B7 3FC0

Ryan McNeill
ryan.mcneill@thomsonreuters.com
10A7 03D3 E737 F6E7

Christine Murray
christine.murray@thomsonreuters.com
576E  0D64 DD24 5840

Ned Parker
ned.parker@thomsonreuters.com
4571 8CAE 9EDE AB24

Janet Roberts
janet.roberts@thomsonreuters.com
AF20 F1BB 299A 1E66

Mica Rosenberg
mica.rosenberg@thomsonreuters.com
2BD1 9CC8 0CDD BABF DD33  49EF 258F E990 DF18 6BDB

John Shiffman
john.shiffman@thomsonreuters.com
4F60 8225 680E 2025

Steve Stecklow
steve.stecklow@thomsonreuters.com
7780 AEBF 9C63 DE0D C6A2  20E2 7809 F574 F8B6 6632 

Charlie Szymanski
charles.szymanski@thomsonreuters.com
8DCE 7522 EE80 EC2B

Maurice Tamman
maurice.tamman@thomsonreuters.com
810F F2BC 8C66 8E9F

Yeganeh Torbati
yeganeh.torbati@thomsonreuters.com
8026 663D 1F86 3A1E 97BC AD7E 7868 75E1 CE52 7F64

Duff Wilson
duff.wilson@thomsonreuters.com
62BF E8C2 F328 1FE2