July 24, 2019 / 6:20 PM / 5 months ago

Factbox: Who has UK PM Johnson appointed to his cabinet?

LONDON (Reuters) - British Prime Minister Boris Johnson began appointing his senior ministers on Wednesday shortly after taking office, naming the team he hopes will help him to deliver Brexit by Oct. 31.

Britain's Home Secretary Sajid Javid arrives at Downing Street, in London, Britain July 24, 2019. REUTERS/Hannah McKay

Below are appointments to the most senior positions:

*Finance minister: Sajid Javid replaces Philip Hammond

*Interior minister: Priti Patel replaces Sajid Javid

*Foreign minister: Dominic Raab replaces Jeremy Hunt

*Brexit minister: Stephen Barclay remains

*Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster: Michael Gove replaces David Lidington

*Defence minister: Ben Wallace replaces Penny Mordaunt

*Trade minister: Liz Truss replaces Liam Fox

*Health minister: Matt Hancock remains

*Environment minister: Theresa Villiers replaces Michael Gove

*Education minister: Gavin Williamson replaces Damian Hinds

*Culture minister: Nicky Morgan replaces Jeremy Wright

*Business minister: Andrea Leadsom replaces Greg Clark

*Housing minister: Robert Jenrick replaces James Brokenshire

*Work and Pensions minister: Amber Rudd remains

*Justice minister and Lord Chancellor: Robert Buckland replaces David Gauke

*International development minister: Alok Sharma replaces Rory Stewart

*Transport minister: Grant Shapps replaces Chris Grayling

*Wales minister: Alun Cairns remains

*N Ireland minister: Julian Smith replaces Karen Bradley

*Scotland minister: Alister Jack replaces David Mundell

*Leader of the House of Lords: Natalie Evans remains

*Attorney General: Geoffrey Cox remains

*Chief Secretary to the Treasury: Rishi Sunak replaces Liz Truss

*Conservative Party Chair: James Cleverly replaces Brandon Lewis

*Leader of the House of Commons: Jacob Rees-Mogg replaces Mel Stride

*Minister of State (Housing) attending cabinet: Esther McVey replaces Kit Malthouse

Slideshow (6 Images)

*Minister of State (Home) attending cabinet: Brandon Lewis replaces Caroline Nokes

*Minister of State (business) attending cabinet: Jo Johnson replaces Chris Skidmore

*Paymaster General: Oliver Dowden replaces Jesse Norman

Reporting by William James, editing by Elizabeth Piper/Guy Faulconbridge/Alistair Smout

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below