Bahrain bans entry from 16 new countries including Iran, Tunisia and Indonesia -BNA

A man walks past closed shops, as the country goes into a two-week semi-lockdown due to high number of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) cases and deaths, in Manama, Bahrain, June 3, 2021. REUTERS/Hamad I Mohammed

CAIRO, July 13 (Reuters) - Bahrain civil aviation affairs said on Tuesday that entry will be banned from 16 new countries including Tunisia, Iran, Iraq, Mexico, Philippines, south Africa and Indonesia over coronavirus concerns, the state news agency (BNA) reported.

Bahrain had suspended entry of travellers from countries on its "Red List" in May, a list that included India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Nepal. read more

Bahrain has excluded citizens and residents with valid residency visas from the ban.

Register now for FREE unlimited access to
Reporting by Nayera Abdallah, writing by Alaa Swilam, editing by Chris Reese

Our Standards: The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.